India to start ICC Champions Trophy title defence against Pakistan as event schedule announced with one year to go

The tournament schedule was announced at The Oval exactly a year before the first ball is bowled in the tournament.

• Hosts England to face Bangladesh in competition opener at The Oval on 1 June

• Trans-Tasman rivals Australia and New Zealand to highlight in a rehash of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 last at Edgbaston on 2 June

• Former champs Sri Lanka and South Africa to bolt horns at The Oval on 3 June

• 15 matches to be played more than 18 days at three notable venues; The Oval to arrange the last on 18 June

• David Richardson says the occasion will have included worth and connection as it will be played only three months before the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 capability cut-off date

• Steve Elworthy says ECB anticipates respecting the occasion taking after its accomplishment in 2013

The ticket poll for the competition will open on 1 September and close toward the end of the month on 30 September. All remaining tickets will then go on general deal in October

India will dispatch its ICC Champions Trophy title protection against customary adversary Pakistan when the two Asian powerhouses clash at Edgbaston, Birmingham, on 4 June 2017. The 18-day competition will keep running from 1 to 18 June 2017 and will likewise see matches played at the Cardiff Wales Stadium in Cardiff and The Oval in London.

Two or three days before this mouth-watering all-Asian conflict, Australia and New Zealand will secure horns a rehash of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 last at Edgbaston. Occasion host and 2004 and 2013 finalist England will tackle Bangladesh in the competition opener at The Oval, which will likewise be the venue for a fight between previous champions Sri Lanka and South Africa on 3 June.

The competition timetable was declared at The Oval precisely a year prior to the primary ball is rocked the bowling alley in the competition, in which an aggregate of 15 matches - including three thump out amusements - will be played more than over two weeks.

The main eight sides on the MRF Tires ICC ODI Team Rankings on 30 September 2015 have fit the bill for this competition, with best on the planet Australia seeded number-one. It heads Group A, which likewise incorporates fourth seed New Zealand, 6th seed England and seventh seed Bangladesh, who will come back to this opposition surprisingly since 2006.

Protecting champion India is seeded second and leads Group B, which likewise involves third seed South Africa, fifth seed Sri Lanka and eighth seed Pakistan.

The main two sides from every congregation will advance to the semi-finals, which will be played at Cardiff and Edgbaston on 14 and 15 June individually, with The Oval facilitating the last. There will be a store day for the last.

Declaring the calendar, ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: "The ICC Champions Trophy is a short and sharp occasion, which is taken after and delighted in by the observers and players alike.

"The ICC Champions Trophy 2017 is not only an ODI rivalry, it conveys a lot of worth since it is being played only three months before the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 capability cut-off date. In that capacity, each point earned here could be vital.

"The declaration of the ICC Champions Trophy plan 12 months before the begin of the occasion will give adequate time to every one of the eight sides to get ready for the competition and touch base in England and Wales completely arranged and equipped with the goal that they can gather enough indicates specifically meet all requirements for the 2019 party.

"The ICC Champions Trophy will likewise be the first of three worldwide competitions the England and Wales Cricket Board will have throughout the following three years. Promptly after the ICC Champions Trophy, the ICC Women's World Cup will be organized while the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, the apex of the 50-over configuration, will be held in 2019.

"These three rivalries will give the socially various society of the United Kingdom and also traversing the globe a chance to observe live activity and take after their most loved players and sides."

ECB's Director - Events, Steve Elworthy, said: "The ICC Champions Trophy was an enormous achievement in 2013, with stuffed grounds and exciting cricket, so we anticipate inviting it back to England and Wales this time one year from now.

"It will begin three years of worldwide occasions in England and Wales, with the ICC Women's World Cup taking after not long after and afterward the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019. It is without uncertainty an energizing time for cricket in this nation."

In the 2013 occasion, India crushed Pakistan by eight wickets in a downpour decreased match at Edgbaston and afterward went ahead to beat England by five keeps running at the same venue to win its 2nd ICC Champions Trophy title.

Nonetheless, in the 2009 occasion in South Africa, Pakistan beat India by 54 keeps running at Centurion, which strikingly is its lone triumph over its old enemies in a noteworthy ICC occasion.

Australia has won consecutive ICC Champions Trophy titles in India and South Africa in 2006 and 2009 separately, while New Zealand won the opposition in Nairobi in 2000 when it was known as the ICC Knock-Out.

Britain is facilitating the occasion for the third time, having made the last in both of competitions on which they have been on home soil beforehand. In 2004, it barely lost the last toward the West Indies at The Oval by two wickets, while in 2013 it endured a five-run rout at Edgbaston.

South Africa won the inaugural occasion in Dhaka, Bangladesh, in 1998 while India and Sri Lanka mutual the trophy in 2002.
Previous winners

1998* – South Africa
2000* New Zealand
2002 – Sri Lanka and India
2004 – West Indies
2006 – Australia
2009 – Australia
2013 - India

*The ICC Champions Trophy in 1998 and 2000 was known as the ICC Knock-Out

Groups (based on teams’ rankings as on 30 September 2015; x denotes seeding)

Group A                   Group B
X-1 Australia             x-2 India
X-4 New Zealand      x-3 South Africa
X-6 England               x-5 Sri Lanka
X-7 Bangladesh         x-8 Pakistan

Event schedule:

Thurs, 1 June – England v Bangladesh, The Oval (d)
Fri, 2 June – Australia v New Zealand, Edgbaston (d)
Sat, 3 June – Sri Lanka v South Africa, The Oval (d)
Sun, 4 June – India v Pakistan, Edgbaston (d)
Mon, 5 June – Australia v Bangladesh, The Oval (d/n)
Tues, 6 June – England v New Zealand, Cardiff (d)
Wed, 7 June – Pakistan v South Africa, Edgbaston (d/n)
Thurs, 8 June – India v Sri Lanka, The Oval (d)
Fri, 9 June – New Zealand v Bangladesh, Cardiff (d)
Sat, 10 June – England v Australia, Edgbaston (d)
Sun, 11 June – India v South Africa, The Oval (d)
Mon, 12 June – Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Cardiff (d)
Wed, 14 June – First semi-final (A1 v B2), Cardiff (d)
Thurs, 15 June – Second semi-final (A2 v B1), Edgbaston (d)
Sun, 18 June – Final, The Oval (d)

Mon, 19 June – Reserve day (d)

No comments:

Post a Comment